Lament over Love

I hope ma chile’ll
Never love a man.
I say I hope ma chile’ll
Never love a man.
Cause love can hurt you
Mo’n anything else can.

I’m goin’ down to de river
An’ I ain’t goin’ there to swim.
Goin’ down to de river,
Ain’t goin’ there to swim.
Ma true love’s left me, an’
I’m goin’ there to think about him.

Love is like whiskey,
Love is like red, red wine.
Love is like whiskey,
O, like sweet red wine.
If you wants to be happy
You got to love all de time.

Langston Hughes

Leave a Reply

